Uncategorized

screeeeeeeeech!

How do I spell that sound that screeching tires make? You know the one… That’s the sound I hear every morning when I wake up and realize I can’t exercise. According to my doctors I can, if I feel up to it I can do anything. I have a torn artery in my neck and they think it’s OK to workout?! I’m sorry but I think that’s a really bad idea. I’ve read other carotid dissection sufferers stories about how it took over a year to heal because they continued to exercise. I’m not interested in that at all. My healing comes first.

Isn’t it ironic? After 38 years of absolutely despising exercise I finally start to make the time to do it on a regular basis and 2 months later I have an injury that puts all of that on a back burner. Screeching tires. I never LOVED to exercise but after trying 6 different gyms/trainers/programs etc. I found a good groove of cardio and strength training that was tolerable and almost (do I dare say) fun?!? It’s cruel that it was all taken away from me with a single diagnosis.

My plan is to walk for now. No running. No cardio. No heavy lifting. Anything that increases my heart rate and/or blood pressure can’t help the healing process so it’s on hold for now.

Screeching tires again… I also have had to stop eating all my favorite vegetables because of the blood thinner I’m on. Vitamin K interferes with the effectiveness of Coumadin and therefore should be avoided. Because I am so resistant to Coumadin in the first place (I’m taking 3 times what a normal person takes), I can’t take any chances so I avoid anything containing Vitamin K. That includes all of my newly found favorites, like Brusselsprouts (have you had them sauteed in bacon fat?!), kale and spinach. Even seemingly harmless foods like blueberries, kiwi and chickpeas contain Vitamin K.

What a cruel joke this has wound up to be. I’ve lost 100lbs and am the healthiest I’ve been in my entire life and now I have to avoid everything that has gotten me there. Shhhhh, don’t tell my doctor that I snuck a single brusselsprout on Thanksgiving.

Leave a comment